CME logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CME?

TL;DR
  • CME here means Certified Management Executive, a NAHRO credential, not any other certification sharing the acronym.
  • The exam is a live ProctorU remote assessment with a two-hour limit and one attempt per purchase.
  • Exam fee is $250 for NAHRO members and $350 for nonmembers; the application itself costs $0.
  • Eligibility requires Executive Management and Leadership training, an ethics course, and one of four specified prior NAHRO credentials.

What the Certified Management Executive Credential Is

CME stands for Certified Management Executive. It is a professional certification offered through NAHRO, the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials, and it targets people who lead or are preparing to lead organizations in the housing and community development field. The credential signals that a candidate has completed structured executive-level training, satisfied an ethics requirement, built on earlier NAHRO credentials, and passed a proctored assessment.

Because several unrelated credentials use the same three letters, it is worth being precise. Everything on this page concerns the NAHRO Certified Management Executive designation. The fees, rules, timelines, and renewal terms described below belong to that credential alone. If you have seen different figures elsewhere for something called "CME," you were most likely looking at a different program. For related definitions, see our explainers on what CME stands for and what CME certification is.

Why the distinction matters: A Certified Management Executive credential is about executive leadership of an organization: strategy, people, processes, communication, performance, and brand. Treat any pricing, pass-rate, or scheduling claim from a source that does not name NAHRO as suspect for this credential.

Who Issues It and Who It Serves

NAHRO is a membership association whose community includes housing authorities, redevelopment agencies, and the professionals who run them. Its certification ladder is designed so that practitioners can progress from earlier credentials toward executive-level recognition. The CME sits at the executive end of that progression, which is why one of its prerequisites is holding a specified prior NAHRO credential.

The people who gain the most from pursuing it tend to be those already managing departments, serving as deputy or executive directors, or positioning themselves for a move into senior management. If you are weighing the investment, our ROI analysis of the CME certification and the CME salary guide discuss the career case in more detail.

The Path to Earning It

The credential is not something you can simply sit for on a whim. NAHRO's published pathway involves several distinct components, and each must be completed before the credential is awarded.

Eligibility prerequisites

  • Baseline education and experience: a high-school diploma plus six months of experience, or an associate degree or higher.
  • Required training: the Executive Management and Leadership training plus 10 additional NAHRO hours.
  • Prior credential: one of four specified earlier NAHRO credentials.
  • Ethics: an initial NAHRO Ethics for Housers or Ethics for Management course.
  • Assessment and application: a passing exam result and the application itself.

The fast-track option

NAHRO describes a possible training waiver for candidates with 15 years of management or executive experience. Even then, the exam and the ethics requirement remain. Public pages are inconsistent about whether a waiver also applies to the prior-credential requirement: older and current pages conflict. If you think you qualify for the fast track, confirm the current treatment directly with NAHRO before you plan around it.

For a fuller walkthrough of each prerequisite, read our guide to CME requirements and eligibility.

ComponentStandard RouteFast-Track Route
Executive Management and Leadership trainingRequired, plus 10 additional NAHRO hoursPossible waiver with 15 management/executive years
Ethics courseRequiredStill required
Proctored examRequiredStill required
Prior NAHRO credentialOne of four specified credentialsWaiver status conflicts across older and current pages

What Happens on Exam Day

The assessment is delivered as a live, remotely proctored exam through ProctorU. You take it from your own location under real-time supervision rather than at a physical testing center. Candidates are expected to use the Guardian Browser and to pass equipment and security checks before the session begins, so you should test your computer, webcam, microphone, and connection well in advance rather than discovering a problem at check-in.

The time limit is two hours. Each purchase of the exam grants one attempt, which means a retake requires buying the exam again. That one-attempt structure raises the stakes of your first sitting and is a good reason to prepare thoroughly. See our guide to CME exam dates and scheduling for planning your session.

Verify before you book: The number of questions, the item format, how many items are scored versus unscored, the numeric passing cutoff, and rules about books or calculators are not publicly verified. The two-hour limit comes from an earlier official exam-detail record whose direct page no longer loads. Confirm current exam-day rules with NAHRO when you purchase.

Fees

The exam costs $250 for NAHRO members and $350 for nonmembers. The application itself carries no fee ($0), and training and preparation costs are separate from the exam price. Because the training and ethics requirements are priced separately, your total outlay will exceed the exam fee alone. Our CME certification cost breakdown lays out how the pieces add up.

The Nine Content Areas

NAHRO's required Executive Management and Leadership training, which it identifies as preparation for the CME assessment, is organized under nine headings. The nine areas below reflect that public course agenda. They are unweighted preparation subjects, not a published exam blueprint, so you should not assume any one of them carries more points than another. The course itself runs 12 hours and includes a WorkPlan capstone, and its four stated objectives center on distinguishing supervision, management, and leadership; applying leadership models, tools, strategies, and techniques; distinguishing the responsibilities of the Executive Director, senior management, and the Board for mission, vision, values, strategy, and ethical norms; and applying strategic-planning methods to organizational goals and operational systems.

Domain 1: Core Elements of Leaders

The foundation. Expect to distinguish supervision from management from leadership and to understand the models and techniques leaders use.

  • Differences among supervising, managing, and leading
  • Leadership models, tools, and strategies

Domain 2: Managing and Leading an Entity

Governance and direction at the organizational level, including who owns what between the Executive Director, senior managers, and the Board.

  • Mission, vision, values, and ethical norms
  • Strategic planning tied to organizational goals

Domain 3: Managing and Leading People

The human side of executive work: building, directing, and sustaining a workforce.

Domain 4: Managing and Leading Processes

Operational systems and how an executive aligns them with organizational goals.

Domain 5: Managing and Leading Communication

How leaders communicate internally and externally across stakeholders, staff, and the Board.

Domain 6: Managing and Leading Lines of Business

Overseeing distinct programs or service lines within a larger organization.

Domain 7: Managing and Leading Performance

Setting expectations, measuring results, and driving accountability.

Domain 8: Managing and Leading Brands

Reputation and identity management for the organization and its programs.

Domain 9: Leading and Creating Legacy

Long-term stewardship, succession, and the lasting impact of executive leadership.

Our complete guide to all nine CME content areas goes deeper on each heading, and the CME cheat sheet condenses the must-know points into one page.

What Is and Is Not Publicly Known

Candidates often want hard numbers, so here is an honest accounting. NAHRO has not publicly confirmed several details that other exam sites state with false confidence.

  • Pass rate: A current pass rate is not disclosed. The only official figure is a historical 2021 report stating 72 passes from 91 exams since 2011, rounded to 79%. That is not a 2026 figure and not a confirmed first-attempt rate.
  • Passing score: The numeric cutoff is not publicly verified.
  • Blueprint and weights: No official domain weighting is published, so the largest domain is unknown.

For the full treatment of these gaps, see our pages on the CME pass rate and the CME passing score, and read how hard the CME exam is for a realistic view of difficulty.

Key Takeaway

Because weights are unpublished, spread your preparation across all nine areas rather than betting on one. A candidate who knows the four course objectives cold and can apply them across every domain is better protected than one who guesses at emphasis.

Keeping the Credential Active

The CME is valid for three years. Renewal requires 2.5 CEUs, equivalent to 25 training hours, with the required ethics included within that total where accepted. The recertification application itself costs $0. Note that Ethics for Housers is required for recertification effective January 1, 2026, even though some older pages still list other options, so follow the current requirement.

If your credential lapses, there is a six-month grace period after expiry. Beyond that window you must fully reapply and retest. Calendar your renewal early so that you never need to restart the process.

Where the Credential Carries Weight

Because the CME is issued by NAHRO and built on NAHRO training, its natural home is the housing and community development sector: public housing authorities, redevelopment agencies, and related nonprofit and government organizations. Employers in that space recognize NAHRO credentials as evidence of sector-specific leadership preparation, and the credential is most relevant for director, deputy director, and senior management roles. Specific salary or hiring figures are not published in a verifiable way for this credential, so treat any precise numbers you encounter with caution. Browse our overview of CME jobs and the CME certification hub for more context.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Content Areas

Since the required training is itself the issuer's stated preparation, the most efficient plan builds directly on it. The sequence below follows the logical dependency among the nine areas: foundations first, then people and process, then the outward-facing and long-horizon topics.

Week 1

Foundations and the Entity

  • Domain 1: Core Elements of Leaders
  • Domain 2: Managing and Leading an Entity, especially Executive Director versus Board roles
Week 2

People and Processes

  • Domain 3: Managing and Leading People
  • Domain 4: Managing and Leading Processes
Week 3

Communication and Business Lines

  • Domain 5: Managing and Leading Communication
  • Domain 6: Managing and Leading Lines of Business
Week 4

Performance, Brand, and Legacy

  • Domains 7, 8, and 9
  • Full review and timed two-hour practice under exam conditions

Front-loading Domains 1 and 2 matters because the supervision-versus-leadership distinction and the governance roles underpin later topics. Finish with a timed session that mirrors the two-hour limit, and rehearse your ProctorU setup at the same time. Our CME study guide expands this plan, and you can test yourself with the CME practice tests to see which areas need attention. Browse the full practice test library and the CME training overview to round out your preparation.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CME stand for in this context?

It stands for Certified Management Executive, a credential offered through NAHRO. It is unrelated to other certifications that share the same acronym. See our pages on CME meaning and what a CME is for more.

How long is the exam and how is it delivered?

The exam is a live, remotely proctored session through ProctorU with a two-hour limit. You will use the Guardian Browser and complete equipment and security checks beforehand. Each exam purchase includes one attempt.

How much does it cost?

The exam is $250 for NAHRO members and $350 for nonmembers. The application is $0, while training and preparation are priced separately.

What is the pass rate?

A current pass rate is not publicly disclosed. A historical 2021 official report showed 72 passes from 91 exams since 2011, rounded to 79%, but that is not a current or first-attempt figure.

How long does the credential last?

It is valid for three years. Renewal requires 2.5 CEUs, equivalent to 25 training hours, including the required ethics where accepted, and there is a six-month grace period after expiry before you must reapply and retest.

Ready to pass your CME exam?

Put this into practice with free CME questions across every exam domain.