- What NAHRO Has and Hasn't Published About the Cutoff
- Why "Passing Score" Is the Wrong Question to Chase
- The Gates You Must Clear Before You Can Even Score
- Exam Mechanics: ProctorU, Two Hours, One Attempt
- What the 2021 Statistics Do and Don't Tell You
- Building Your Readiness Around the Nine Preparation Headings
- A Domain-Ordered Preparation Schedule
- After You Pass: Validity, Renewal and Grace Period
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NAHRO has not publicly verified a numeric passing score, question count, or scored/unscored split for the Certified Management Executive exam.
- The exam is a live ProctorU remote assessment with a two-hour limit and one attempt per purchase.
- Exam fee is $250 for NAHRO members and $350 for nonmembers; the application itself costs $0.
- Only 72 of 91 exams since 2011 passed in NAHRO's 2021 report: roughly 79%, not a current rate.
What NAHRO Has and Hasn't Published About the Cutoff
If you searched for the exact number you need to hit on the Certified Management Executive (CME) exam, here is the honest answer: NAHRO has not publicly verified a numeric passing score. The same is true of the total question count, the split between scored and unscored items, the item format, and the current blueprint version. Any site that quotes you a precise percentage or scaled score for this credential is either guessing or importing a figure from an unrelated certification that happens to share the acronym.
That matters because "CME" is a crowded acronym. This article is about one credential only: the Certified Management Executive credential issued by NAHRO. Nothing here borrows a cutoff, fee, or date from any other certification, and you should be wary of any study resource that does.
What we can say with confidence comes from NAHRO's own pages: the exam is a proctored assessment delivered remotely, it carries a two-hour time limit, you get one attempt per exam purchase, and the exam fee is $250 for members and $350 for nonmembers. If you want a broader picture of how these numbers fit together, our CME certification cost breakdown walks through the full pricing picture, including the pieces that are billed separately.
Why "Passing Score" Is the Wrong Question to Chase
Candidates fixate on the cutoff because it feels like a finish line they can measure. For this exam, that instinct works against you for three reasons.
- The number isn't public. You cannot calibrate practice scores against a threshold that NAHRO hasn't disclosed, so a practice result of "80%" proves nothing about your real standing.
- The format details are unverified. Without a confirmed item count or item format, there is no reliable way to translate a raw percentage into a pass probability.
- The exam sits at the end of a chain. Before you test, you must complete required training, hold a qualifying prior NAHRO credential, and finish an ethics course. By the time you reach the proctored assessment, you will have already absorbed most of the material in structured form.
A better question is: can I explain and apply each of the nine content areas to a real housing-organization scenario? If so, you are preparing the right way regardless of where the cutoff sits. For a candid look at how demanding that preparation tends to feel, see how hard the CME exam is.
The Gates You Must Clear Before You Can Even Score
The CME is not a walk-up exam. NAHRO structures it as the final step of a credentialing pathway, and several requirements must be satisfied for the certification to be awarded. According to the published facts, the pathway includes:
- Baseline education/experience: a high-school diploma plus six months of experience, or an associate degree or higher.
- Required training: the Executive Management and Leadership training plus 10 additional NAHRO hours.
- A prior NAHRO credential: one of four specified prior NAHRO credentials.
- Ethics: an initial NAHRO Ethics for Housers or Ethics for Management course.
- The exam and application: passing the exam and submitting the application (which carries a $0 fee; training and prep are separate costs).
There is also a fast-track training waiver available to candidates with 15 years of management or executive experience. Be careful here: the waiver covers the training requirement, but the exam and ethics course remain required. Whether a prior-credential waiver applies is described inconsistently between older and current NAHRO pages, so confirm directly with NAHRO before assuming you are exempt. Our CME requirements guide lays out eligibility in more detail.
Exam Mechanics: ProctorU, Two Hours, One Attempt
The delivery details are among the few things that are concrete, and they influence how you should prepare.
| Element | What's Established | What's Unverified |
|---|---|---|
| Delivery | Live remote proctoring through ProctorU | Whether adaptive testing is used |
| Time limit | Two hours | Per-section timing, if any |
| Attempts | One attempt per purchase | Retake discounts or policies |
| Exam fee | $250 member / $350 nonmember | N/A |
| Application fee | $0 | N/A |
| Technical setup | Guardian Browser plus equipment and security checks | Whether books or calculators are allowed |
| Question count and format | Not publicly verified | Item count, scored/unscored split, item format |
| Numeric cutoff | Not publicly verified | Passing score or scaled-score method |
A note on the two-hour limit: it comes from NAHRO's earlier official exam-detail record, and the direct URL for that page now returns a 404 even though the indexed official record remains available. Treat two hours as the best available figure, and reconfirm it when you purchase.
Because it is a live remote exam, your preparation should include logistics. Run the Guardian Browser and equipment checks well before test day, not on the morning of the exam. A failed security check is an avoidable way to lose a one-attempt purchase. For scheduling specifics, see our CME exam dates and scheduling guide.
What the 2021 Statistics Do and Don't Tell You
The only official outcome data on record is a NAHRO statistics report from December 2021: 72 passes out of 91 exams since 2011, which rounds to 79%. It's tempting to treat that as "the pass rate." Resist that.
- It is a historical, cumulative figure, not a 2026 rate.
- It is not confirmed as a first-attempt rate.
- The sample is small (91 exams over roughly a decade), so it says little about any individual's odds.
- NAHRO states that the current pass rate is not disclosed.
What the figure does suggest, cautiously, is that candidates who reach the exam stage have usually already cleared a demanding set of prerequisites, which may be part of why historical outcomes look favorable. It is not evidence that the exam is easy. Our dedicated CME pass rate analysis goes deeper on how to read this data without over-interpreting it.
Key Takeaway
Plan as though you have a single, high-stakes attempt. With no disclosed cutoff and a one-attempt-per-purchase policy, the only safe strategy is broad mastery of all nine content areas, not targeting a minimum number.
Building Your Readiness Around the Nine Preparation Headings
NAHRO's public Executive Management and Leadership course agenda has nine substantive headings. These are the issuer's training agenda for the course that NAHRO identifies as preparation for the CME assessment. They are not a weighted exam blueprint: official domain weights, and which area is largest, remain unknown. Treat them as your best map of the territory, studied evenly unless you have a personal weakness to correct. A fuller walkthrough lives in our guide to the nine CME content areas.
The course also states four learning objectives, and they are worth keeping in front of you as you study:
- Distinguishing supervision, management and leadership.
- Applying leadership models, tools, strategies and techniques.
- Distinguishing the responsibilities of the Executive Director, senior management and the Board for mission, vision, values, strategy and ethical norms.
- Applying strategic-planning methods to organizational goals and operational systems.
Core Elements of Leaders
The foundation: what separates supervising, managing and leading.
- Be able to articulate the differences among supervision, management and leadership, not just define them.
- Know common leadership models and when each applies.
Managing and Leading an Entity
The organization-level view, where governance roles come into focus.
- Distinguish Executive Director, senior management and Board responsibilities.
- Connect mission, vision, values, strategy and ethical norms to who owns them.
Managing and Leading People
Workforce-facing leadership inside a housing organization.
- Apply leadership tools and techniques to team and staffing scenarios.
- Expect situational questions rather than pure recall.
Managing and Leading Processes
How operational systems support organizational goals.
- Link strategic-planning methods to day-to-day operational systems.
Managing and Leading Communication
Internal and external communication as a leadership function.
- Understand communication across staff, Board and stakeholders.
Managing and Leading Lines of Business
Overseeing distinct service or program areas within one agency.
- Think in terms of balancing multiple program lines under a shared mission.
Managing and Leading Performance
Measuring, monitoring and improving results.
- Tie performance measures back to organizational goals.
Managing and Leading Brands
Reputation and identity as a managed organizational asset.
- Consider how an agency's public standing connects to its mission and values.
Leading and Creating Legacy
The long-horizon view of leadership and sustainability.
- Understand succession, continuity and lasting organizational impact.
One caution: the bullets above describe how to approach each heading as a study target. They are not claims about how many exam questions each area contributes. Because exhaustive exam coverage and weights are unverified, no responsible source can tell you that one area is worth more than another. If you want a structured study path across all nine, our CME study guide is the natural companion to this article.
A Domain-Ordered Preparation Schedule
Since the order of the nine headings builds from individual leadership outward to organizational legacy, it makes sense to study in that sequence, saving a cumulative review for last. Here is one way to pace it over six weeks, adjustable to your calendar and your training completion date.
Leadership Foundations
- Core Elements of Leaders: supervision vs. management vs. leadership.
- List the leadership models from your training and note a use case for each.
Organization-Level Roles
- Managing and Leading an Entity: map Executive Director, senior management and Board duties.
- Practice distinguishing who owns mission, vision, values, strategy and ethical norms.
People and Processes
- Managing and Leading People, then Managing and Leading Processes.
- Link strategic-planning methods to operational systems.
Communication and Lines of Business
- Communication across staff, Board and stakeholders.
- Balancing multiple program lines under one mission.
Performance, Brands and Legacy
- Performance measurement tied to goals.
- Brand stewardship and succession/continuity thinking.
Integration and Logistics
- Timed practice within a two-hour window using our CME practice tests.
- Run the Guardian Browser and equipment check; confirm your environment.
Treat practice scores as a diagnostic for weak areas rather than a predictor of passing, since no confirmed cutoff exists to measure against. Our practice allocation across the nine areas is editorial, not an official weighting.
After You Pass: Validity, Renewal and Grace Period
Passing is not the end of the obligation. The certification carries a three-year validity period, and renewal expectations are concrete:
- Continuing education: 2.5 CEUs, equivalent to 25 training hours, with the required ethics included in that total where accepted.
- Ethics requirement: Ethics for Housers is required for recertification effective January 1, 2026, even though older options are still listed on some pages.
- Renewal fee: the renewal application is $0.
- Grace period: a six-month window after expiry, after which you must reapply and retest in full.
The practical takeaway is to track your ethics requirement early and avoid relying on older course listings. If you are weighing whether the ongoing commitment is justified, see our analysis of whether the CME certification is worth it, and for the career side, our CME salary guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
NAHRO has not publicly verified a numeric passing score. The question count, scored/unscored split, and item format are also unverified, so any specific percentage you see quoted should be treated with skepticism.
The exam has a two-hour limit and allows one attempt per purchase. It is delivered remotely through ProctorU, with Guardian Browser and equipment/security checks.
The exam is $250 for NAHRO members and $350 for nonmembers. The application carries a $0 fee, while required training and preparation are separate costs.
No. It comes from a 2021 NAHRO report of 72 passes out of 91 exams since 2011, rounded to 79%. It is historical, not a 2026 rate, and is not confirmed as a first-attempt rate. NAHRO does not disclose a current pass rate.
It is valid for three years. Renewal requires 2.5 CEUs (25 training hours) including required ethics, with a $0 renewal application. After expiry you have a six-month grace period before full reapplication and retesting are required.