- What the Published Data Actually Says
- Reading the 2021 Report Carefully
- What NAHRO Does Not Disclose
- Why a Raw Pass Rate Misleads for This Credential
- The Prerequisite Filter Behind Every Attempt
- Exam Mechanics That Affect Your Odds
- Nine Domains and Where Candidates Struggle
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- After You Pass: Renewal and Lapse Risk
- Frequently Asked Questions
- NAHRO does not publish a current CME pass rate; the only official figure is a 2021 report of 72 passes from 91 exams.
- That 2021 figure covers exams since 2011, rounds to 79%, and is not a 2026 or first-attempt rate.
- Each exam purchase buys one attempt: $250 for NAHRO members, $350 for nonmembers, taken live via ProctorU in two hours.
- Candidates must clear training and ethics prerequisites first, so the test-taking pool is already filtered.
What the Published Data Actually Says
If you are searching for the Certified Management Executive pass rate, the honest answer begins with a limitation: NAHRO does not currently disclose a pass rate for the CME assessment. There is no live dashboard, no annual report line item, and no per-cohort breakdown that we could verify. Any site quoting a crisp 2026 percentage is either guessing or borrowing a number from an unrelated credential that happens to share the acronym.
What does exist is a single historical document: a NAHRO statistics report dated December 2021. It states that 72 candidates had passed out of 91 exams administered since 2011. Dividing those numbers and rounding gives roughly 79%. That is the only official figure available, and it needs careful handling, which the next section covers.
Reading the 2021 Report Carefully
Three details in that 2021 report limit how much weight you should place on it.
- It counts exams, not people. The report says 91 exams, not 91 candidates. Because a candidate who fails and retakes generates more than one exam, we cannot convert 72 passes into a first-attempt pass rate. The 79% is an exam-level ratio, and it is not confirmed as a first-attempt rate.
- It spans a decade. Covering 2011 through 2021, the figure blends whatever exam forms, cutoffs, and preparation materials existed over that period. Nothing in the report tells us whether the assessment today resembles the one from 2011.
- It is small. Ninety-one exams over roughly ten years is a modest sample. Small samples swing noticeably with a handful of outcomes, so a few cohorts of well-prepared or underprepared candidates could move the ratio by several points.
The report is also now several years old. Since it was published, NAHRO has changed parts of the certification pathway, including its ethics requirement for recertification effective January 1, 2026. We cannot say whether those changes affected exam outcomes, because no newer outcome data has been released.
| Question | What the data supports |
|---|---|
| Is there a current (2026) pass rate? | No. NAHRO does not disclose one. |
| What is the only official figure? | 72 passes from 91 exams since 2011, rounded to 79%, per the 2021 report. |
| Is it a first-attempt rate? | Not confirmed. It counts exams, not unique candidates. |
| Does it describe today's exam? | Unknown. It predates current pathway changes. |
| Is there a published numeric cutoff? | Not publicly verified. See our CME passing score breakdown for what is and is not known. |
What NAHRO Does Not Disclose
The gaps are as informative as the figures. As of our most recent review of NAHRO's public pages, the following remain unverified:
- The current pass rate for any year
- The number of questions on the exam
- The split between scored and unscored items
- The item format (multiple choice, scenario-based, or mixed)
- The numeric passing cutoff
- Official domain weights and which domain is largest
- The current blueprint version
- Whether calculators, reference materials, or adaptive testing rules apply
This matters for pass-rate interpretation. Without the cutoff and the blueprint, there is no way to judge how demanding the exam is from outside, and no way to say whether a given pass rate reflects a hard test, a well-prepared pool, or both. The two-hour time limit comes from an earlier official exam-detail record; the direct page for that record now returns a 404, though the indexed official record remains available. We retain it, but flag it as worth confirming when you purchase.
Why a Raw Pass Rate Misleads for This Credential
Even if NAHRO published a fresh percentage tomorrow, it would be a poor predictor of your individual outcome for structural reasons.
The candidate pool is pre-screened
You cannot simply decide to sit the CME. You must complete required training, hold a qualifying prior credential, and satisfy an ethics requirement before the exam is available to you. People who clear those gates are working housing and community development professionals who have already invested significant time. A high historical pass rate may say more about who gets to the exam than about how easy it is.
Failure is costly, so people self-select
One attempt per purchase, at $250 for members or $350 for nonmembers, gives candidates a financial reason not to sit unprepared. Candidates who feel shaky are likely to delay. That tends to push pass rates up without making the content easier. For the full cost picture, including training and renewal, see our CME certification cost breakdown.
The exam rewards applied judgment
The credential is built around executive management and leadership of housing and community development organizations. The domains deal with leading entities, people, processes, communication, lines of business, performance, and brands. Candidates who know the terminology but have never made a staffing, governance, or strategy decision may find the application-heavy framing harder than the headline rate implies.
The Prerequisite Filter Behind Every Attempt
Understanding the pathway explains why the exam pool looks the way it does. According to NAHRO's public application pages, a CME candidate generally needs:
- A high-school diploma plus six months of experience, or an associate degree or higher
- Completion of the Executive Management and Leadership training, plus 10 additional NAHRO hours
- One of four specified prior NAHRO credentials
- An initial NAHRO ethics course, either Ethics for Housers or Ethics for Management
- A passing exam result and an approved application (the application itself has no fee)
A fast-track training waiver is possible for candidates with 15 years of management or executive experience, but the exam and ethics requirement remain. Sources conflict on whether the prior-credential requirement is also waived, with older and current pages disagreeing, so confirm directly with NAHRO before relying on it. Our CME requirements guide walks through the eligibility details.
One point of confusion worth clearing up: the Executive Management and Leadership course is 12 hours and includes a WorkPlan capstone. That 12-hour figure describes the training, not the exam timer. Likewise, the optional on-demand CME Prep Course is a separate 2.5-hour training product and is not the examination.
Exam Mechanics That Affect Your Odds
Administrative and technical details can quietly influence results, especially for a live-proctored test.
- Live remote proctoring. The exam is delivered through ProctorU with a live proctor, using Guardian Browser plus equipment and security checks. Test your setup well before exam day rather than discovering a webcam or network problem at check-in.
- One attempt per purchase. If you do not pass, a retake requires purchasing again. That raises the stakes of your first sitting.
- Two-hour limit. Plan pacing around two hours, but verify at purchase, since the source record for that limit is the earlier exam-detail page.
- Unknown rules. We could not verify whether books, calculators, or adaptive item selection are permitted or used. Read the current exam sales page and ProctorU instructions closely before booking.
For scheduling specifics, see our page on CME exam dates and scheduling.
Nine Domains and Where Candidates Struggle
NAHRO has not published a weighted exam blueprint. The nine headings below come from the public agenda of the Executive Management and Leadership training that NAHRO identifies as preparation for the CME assessment. They are unweighted course subjects, not a confirmed exam syllabus, and we do not claim a 2026 revision. Older indexed text lists ten modules because it adds an introductory overview and WorkPlan item; the current catalog shows nine.
The course's four current learning objectives frame the intended competencies: distinguishing supervision, management, and leadership; applying leadership models, tools, strategies, and techniques; distinguishing the responsibilities of the Executive Director, senior management, and the Board for mission, vision, values, strategy, and ethical norms; and applying strategic-planning methods to organizational goals and operational systems.
Domain 1: Core Elements of Leaders
The foundation. Expect to separate supervision from management from leadership and apply leadership models.
- Be able to explain why each role differs, not just define it
- Practice applying a model to a scenario rather than reciting it
Domain 2: Managing and Leading an Entity
Governance and the division of responsibility among the Executive Director, senior management, and the Board.
- Know who owns mission, vision, values, strategy, and ethical norms
- Watch for scenarios where roles blur or conflict
Domain 3: Managing and Leading People
Staff development, motivation, and organizational culture from an executive vantage point.
- Think in terms of systems and culture, not only one-on-one supervision
Domain 4: Managing and Leading Processes
Operational systems and how strategic goals translate into repeatable work.
- Connect strategic-planning methods to operational systems
Domain 5: Managing and Leading Communication
Internal and external communication, including stakeholders and boards.
- Expect judgment questions about what to communicate, to whom, and when
Domain 6: Managing and Leading Lines of Business
Overseeing distinct programs and service lines within an agency.
- Balance mission with financial and operational realities across lines
Domain 7: Managing and Leading Performance
Setting goals, measuring results, and holding the organization accountable.
- Understand how performance measures tie back to strategy
Domain 8: Managing and Leading Brands
Reputation, identity, and public perception of the organization.
- Often underestimated by candidates from operations backgrounds
Domain 9: Leading and Creating Legacy
Succession, sustainability, and long-term organizational impact.
- Prepare for forward-looking, reflective scenarios
Because weights are unknown, we cannot say which domain is largest or which causes the most failures, and we will not guess. Our complete guide to all nine CME content areas expands on each heading. Any practice-question allocation you see, including ours, is editorial and reflects our own judgment, not an official blueprint.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Without official weights, the safest approach is even coverage with extra time on the domains most distant from your daily work. A candidate from a finance background, for example, may need more time on communication and brand than on lines of business. One sample sequence:
Foundation and governance
- Domain 1 (Core Elements of Leaders) and Domain 2 (Managing and Leading an Entity)
- Governance questions anchor everything else, so start here
People, processes, communication
- Domains 3, 4, and 5
- Use scenario practice rather than flash cards
Business, performance, brand, legacy
- Domains 6, 7, 8, and 9
- Spend extra time on whichever is least familiar from your role
Integration and logistics
- Full-length timed practice under a two-hour limit
- Run the ProctorU equipment and Guardian Browser checks
For a broader walkthrough, see our CME study guide, and when you are ready to test yourself against realistic scenarios, try the CME practice tests. For a compact refresher in the final days, the CME cheat sheet condenses the key facts.
Key Takeaway
Since the pass rate cannot tell you how hard the exam is, measure your own readiness directly: take timed, scenario-based practice sets across all nine domains and look for uneven performance. A weak domain matters more than a strong average. Start with the CME exam practice questions to find your gaps early.
After You Pass: Renewal and Lapse Risk
Passing is not the end of the commitment, and the renewal rules are part of the real cost of holding the credential. The CME is valid for three years. Renewal requires 2.5 CEUs, equivalent to 25 training hours, with the required ethics training counted within that total where accepted. The renewal application itself carries no fee.
One recent change deserves attention: Ethics for Housers is required for recertification effective January 1, 2026, even though older options may still appear on some pages. If your renewal falls in or after 2026, plan for that specific course rather than relying on outdated listings.
If the credential expires, there is a six-month grace period. After that, you face full reapplication and a retest, which means repurchasing the exam. Letting a credential lapse is therefore far more expensive than keeping up with CEUs. When weighing whether the investment pays off, our CME ROI analysis and salary guide cover the career side, and the CME jobs overview looks at who values the credential.
Frequently Asked Questions
NAHRO does not disclose a current pass rate. The only official figure is a 2021 report showing 72 passes from 91 exams since 2011, which rounds to 79%. That number is not a 2026 rate and is not confirmed as a first-attempt rate.
It cannot be treated as one. The report counts exams rather than unique candidates, so retakes are mixed in. We cannot isolate how many candidates passed on their first try.
The exam is $250 for NAHRO members and $350 for nonmembers, and each purchase covers one attempt. The application has no fee, but training and preparation are separate costs.
A numeric cutoff is not publicly verified, and neither are the question count or the scored versus unscored split. Check the current NAHRO exam purchase page for any updates before booking.
Unknown. Official domain weights are unverified, and the nine headings come from NAHRO's training agenda rather than a weighted exam blueprint. Prepare across all nine domains and put extra time into the ones outside your daily experience.
The takeaway is simple: the available pass-rate data is thin, dated, and not directly comparable to your situation, so build your confidence on measured readiness across the nine domains, not on a single percentage. For definitions and background on the credential itself, start with what CME certification is.